Monday, July 04, 2005

Update on Sickness

Well, we were doing way to much moving for me to stop anywhere this weekend and post, sorry.

It's going to take a while for me to catch you up on everything I have done, cause you know I hate writing. I will keep at it. So of the posts from now on will have sporatic things in them to jar my memory. I will post stuff as I remember it as well.

This is a short one from Mom & Dad, Kelly, Mia, and Mom's other friends who are more worried about my sickness than me......Travel Tip: Dont get sick in a foreign country. It just sucks. Also, dont get a fever in a country that has less than 1% of all buildings with A/C.

Anyway, Went to Florence this weekend which is in the lovely Tuscana region of Italy. Got up Friday morning, felt worse. Sore Throat, Headache, Fever, Coughing, Weak, and I am fighting a river of snot coming out of my nose, which is still the only real problem I am having as of right now. My throat is slightly sore, and I blow my nose about every 20 minutes around the clock. I have got to be setting a world record in some kinda gross category. Anyway, I am going to try and get something else to dry me up with that tomorrow. Hopefully it will happen.

Got to Florence, went to dinner, and I immediately went back to the hostel. I wanted to try and give my body as much time as possible to revcover. Saturday morning, wasn't happening. Woke up, felt even worse but I think my fever had broken. I look through the library of guidebooks each of us had, and found a Tourist Health Service that can place you in contact with a doctor that can speak your language. It was actually a really nice service. They have 24 hr doctors on call of many common foreign travelers. I called this place on saturday, and the lady gave me a number to call. Turns out that you actually do call the doctor directly, as that is who answered. As soon as she heard I was speaking english, she immediately wanted to know what was going on. This was probably around 930-945 on saturday morning. She said that she could meet me at 12:00 at my hotel, or since we were staying pretty close to ger office I could meet her there at 1100. She had another patient she had to meet at 11:30. I told her that since she was going to be at her office anyway, i would meet her there. Well, being the promt person I am, I showed up about 12-15 minutes before 11. She was not there yet. About five minutes later this woman came around the corner on a motorcyle, full face helmet, complete with black doctor bag on the rear. She was late 40's and didn't really look like the motorcycle type. She pulled right up in front of me, as she took of her helmet and was like (pretend I am telling this now in my foreign voice) "You here for medical doctor" I was like yes. So she introduced herseld as Dr. HSomething? Silverhoern. She took me into her office and listened to my lungs, about made me throw up like Ednacot could by jamming all that stuff down my throat. However, she believed I had an upper respiratory infection, and prescribed me Augmentin, A gargle to help with the sore throat, and night time cold medcine to use if i cant sleep. It cost Euro 45 for the evaluation, but since her secretary was not there (being sat) I had to pay in cash. Who cares, I need Antibiotics. She did fill out a form that I should be able to get reimbursed from my travel insurance.

Made my way to the Pharmacy, which was awsome. They took the prescription, ran to two different drawers, and handed me the bag and told me the price. I was out of there within a minute. You can't get it that fast if you call ahead. I was back with the guys before 1230. Talk about service. NOw for some other stuff....

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home